A timely reminder

I’ve been under the weather the past week, down with an eye infection (I’m now sitting in front of the pc with one swollen eye), and a throat infection leading to a high fever. Today, due to the throat infection, I completely lost my voice – all that comes out is a pitiful squeak when I try to speak.

Obviously, I’m not feeling on top of the world, but not all is bad. A Chinese idiom goes “因祸得福” (literally translated, it means to profit from a misfortune). I actually benefitted from this bout of illness.

Being down under the weather forced me to slow down, to take life at a slower pace. This in turn allowed my children (especially C) to take a break without me breathing down their necks. In an earlier post, I had written about letting my children play, to let them have the time and freedom to explore freely, but in the course of the year, I had reverted to be quite the tiger mum again. Sitting down and taking a rest gave me a reminder to let it go (there is really not much energy left after dealing with a raging fever).

Today, my voice was non-existent. For the kids, it meant no nagging, no screaming, no instructions. Forced to remain silent, I was shocked surprised to find out just how much I nagged spoke each day, and how many times I would have scolded the kids for minor infringements. Because of the sore throat, all I could do was to squeak my disapproval, but no harsh words could come out of my mouth. The kids actually started giggling when they heard me, and at that moment, all my anger disappeared.  I laughed (noiselessly) together with them.

Perhaps, I really needed this reminder.

p/s: I’ll get back to completing that draft on my Bali trip soon (right after that eye gets better).

30 thoughts on “A timely reminder

  1. Valerie

    *Hugs*!! You poor thing!
    I know exactly what you mean. I don’t mind being sick (I’m sure I would if it were a regular thing) because it slows me down, my mind is calm, and I feel relaxed. I am actually looking at this coming year with the goal of slowing down. A lot of it relates to my computer usage (or downsizing of it) and I am excited!!
    I hope you feel better soon. XOXO

    Reply
  2. sugarbitznmilkybar

    I was down with the flu too and I also realised how much work I push myself to do in a day. I then realised that the world would not fall into ruins if I do not get to fold the laundry on time. It helped me to focus on the essentials and to be more relaxed with the other stuff. Hope you get well asap 🙂

    Reply
  3. Mummy Ed

    That was me last month, fever and all, so I really hope you get well soon! As a consolation I always feel it’s better that we are the ones sick than the little ones, don’t you think?

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Postcard Exchange: Singapore | The Vanilla Housewife

  5. scottishmomus

    I had an almost no voice situation once while teaching and reverted to signs for a lot of what I wanted to say. The kids were amazing and did not take advantage. If anything they were quieter than usual. I think I may be the loud one that causes volume to rise all over. 😉
    I hope you feel better soon. Simple lessons, right enough. 🙂 x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

