Graduation

Last Saturday, I attended C’s graduation concert. My little girl. Graduating from kindergarten.

During the introductory speech by her principal, these words flashed on the screen

It’s only just beginning
This is what we dream about
But the only question with me now
Is, do I make you proud?

As I listened, I recalled her first day in school four years ago. While the rest of her 3-year-old classmates were bawling away, she was the only one who strode confidently into class and sat in front. I was the one with attachment issues, peeping into class, secretly wishing that she would be crying for me (alas, she simply turned around and gave me a little wave to say good-bye).

I cried.

C_grad.jpg

First day of school in 2010

Four years down the road, she has grown into a little lady. A feisty 6-year old who has just crossed another milestone, ready to step into primary school. I felt my heart bursting as I watched her perform on stage with the same confidence she displayed four years ago. Then, I heard her name called out to receive her graduation certificate.

Again, I cried.

C_grad1.jpg

C ready for her graduation concert

I had not expected to be overcome with emotions on both occasions, but I was. I could not control those tears – tears of pride and joy.

Do you make me proud?

Yes, my dear C. You make me so, so proud. Happy graduation.

24 thoughts on “Graduation

  1. Zee

    I got all emotional reading this as well! Children grow up too quickly don’t they. Lovely photo of C on her graduation day! Exciting times ahead for her next year. She’ll be attending primary one!!

    Reply
      1. Zee

        Yes I am! But I haven’t been spending as much time on my blog as I would have liked to 😦 I’m so exhausted these days that I just crash on my bed at the end of the day. Haha.

Leave a Reply

