Thankful

I just spent 5 hours with a wheezing G at the A&E department of the children’s hospital. Although being at the hospital was the last thing that I wanted, I’m thankful for several things:

I’m thankful that I had someone to look after C, and she didn’t have to go with us to the hospital.

I’m thankful that we were ushered in almost immediately by the nurse, so we didn’t have to wait in a long queue.

I’m thankful that G was a trooper who took the nebulizer without complaints, twice. He remained a cheerful and happy boy throughout.

I’m thankful that we decided to bring G in to the hospital instead of self-medicating. He was diagnosed with a mild chest infection that could have worsened if we held back for a few more days.

I’m thankful that we went to the hospital, where the x-ray machine was available to confirm the diagnosis.

I’m thankful that the medical bill was subsidised 😛

What are you thankful for today?

Note: G’s cough and cold started with mild symptoms (slight cough, a runny nose and a low-grade fever) last Friday night. We decided to self-medicate, but somehow the cough got worse this afternoon, and he started to wheeze slightly. Wheezing is never a good sign. We gave a call to the hospital and was advised to go down immediately. G remained very active throughout the entire process so we had thought initially that it was just a normal cold that would sort itself out. We were wrong. If your child has chesty coughs and a fever, do bring him down to get checked for a possible chest infection.

18 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Valerie

    Aww, I’m glad he’s ok! I have been through that multiple times with boy my boys. I have been thankful of the same things. XO
    Feel better, G!!

    Reply
  2. Homeschool Crafts

    Just managed to read your post today. I hope G’s feeling better. Cases of flu bug and viral fever have been going around lately. Hannah’s recovering from high fever and the cold too. Take care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

