Tulipmania!

Last month, a part of the Netherlands was brought to Singapore. The Flower Dome at Gardens by the Bay was the venue for Tulipmania (29 April – 20 May 2013), the largest tulip-themed floral show ever to be held in Singapore. 20,000 tulips were flown in especially from the Netherlands for this event.

Last Sunday, we finally managed to make a trip down before the event ended.

Tulipmania

Perhaps it was due to the weekend, and also the Tulipmania event, the main carpark was full when we reached at 3pm. We parked at the Meadows carpark, which turned out to be a 20 minutes walk to our destination.

It turned out to be a good thing that we parked so far away. We got a chance to take a look at the Gardens as we made our way to the Flower Dome. This was our first time at there since the Gardens opened in June last year. (I think we must be the last few Singaporeans who have not been there!) There has been quite a bit of hype about it, and seeing it for myself for the first time, I think the hype is justified. The area was huge!

First trip to gardens by the bay

First trip to gardens by the bay

tulipmania9.jpg

Super trees

When we reached the conservatories after a 20 minute walk under the hot afternoon sun, we were dismayedΒ to find a long snaking queue for the entrance tickets. The kids were getting cranky, and we wanted to enter the air-conditioned Flower Dome fast. Thank goodness for the smartphone – I managed to buy the tickets online, and avoided another 20 minutes wait.

Tip: If you buy the tickets online, you don’t need to print out the tickets if you have a smartphone that is able to open pdf. They can scan the barcode directly from your phone.

Once in, we were greeted by huge panels featuring the different blooms:

Huge panels

Huge panels

We made our way into the conservatory, where we were greeted by huge clogs (representative of the Netherlands) and myriad blooms. Instead of photobombing this post, here is a selection of my favourites:

A selection of blooms

A selection of blooms

tulipmania1.jpg

Can you tell that C really likes flowers? πŸ™‚

tulipmania4.jpg

Stop and smell the flowers

tulipmania10.jpg

G preferred the floral kaleidoscope display. He stood/squatted there for a long time.

tulipmania11.jpg

G mesmerized by the kaleidoscope display

Of course, the main highlight were the tulips! There were little signs everywhere which gave snippets of information on tulips.

tulipmania2.jpg

tulipmania3.jpg

My favourite shot of red tulips

Pretty yellow tulips

Pretty yellow tulips

Unique fuzzy tulips

Unique fuzzy tulips

There was a long queue (45 minutes!) to get into the main display area. Since we were already there, it didn’t make sense not to queue. Crowds nonwithstanding, the flowers were really beautiful, and brought smiles to all our faces.

tulipmania6.jpg

The main display! It looked really beautiful, a miniature of the flower fields from the Netherlands. Maybe some day we can visit the country and see it for real!

tulipmania5.jpg

Rows of flowers!

Rows of flowers!

At the exit, there were interactive panels and holographic shows. The kids didn’t want to leave!

tulipmania7.jpg

Animated hologram – Life cycle of a daisy

tulipmania8.jpg

Animated hologram – the circle of life

It was definitely worth a trip down. We will be back, but next time I’ll go during off-peak hours πŸ˜‰

A final look at the pretty blooms before we leave!

A final look at the pretty blooms before we leave!

What is your favourite flower?

24 thoughts on “Tulipmania!

  1. linbritt

    They look amazing! I have seen these gardens on a Gardening show recently here in Australia. It looks just incredible!
    Gorgeous kids too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Zee

    Lovely pictures! It’s a pity I didn’t get to catch this. It must have been really beautiful, judging from your pictures.
    I don’t have a favourite flower because I generally love all types of flowers, but I have a soft spot for tulips too. πŸ˜› By the way, I love C’s outfit!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Thanks! The flowers were indeed really very pretty. I’ve not seen so many tulips before, it certainly made me want to go to the Netherlands in spring πŸ™‚
      C chose the outfit herself, I’ll let her know, she’ll be pleased, thanks!

      Reply
  3. tric

    I love gardening and my very favourite flower is the snow drop. Each flower like a tear. It is one of the first flowering flowers of our winter/spring. It is also a flower that reminds me of my grandad.I would have loved to visit this feast of flowers!

    Reply
  4. thehomeschoolmomblog

    I am so jealous (teasing)! I absolutely adore tulips and have several different types in my garden. Now I am going to have to plan a trip just to see this exhibit. (laughing) It looks wonderful! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Haha. I’m the one who is envious. Tulips in your garden! Do post pictures. Our climate would never support the growing of tulips, so the only opportunity that we get to see them is in a floral show like this πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. sugarbitznmilkybar

    We were there too! Such a beautiful and educational event. My fav flowers are actually roses but after going to the show, I think tulips rate a close 2nd with me now πŸ™‚ PS. I wish I knw about the scanning the barcode thingy. Being the kiasu mum, I printed them *lol*

    Reply
  6. motherhoodisanart

    Wow! That looks incredible! Thanks for sharing! Your family does some really amazing outings! My husband just commented the other day that he is going to plant some tulips this fall so that they come up next Spring!

    Reply
  7. Valerie

    *grrr* Your posts are not always showing up in my Reader!! I missed this one!
    Annnyywaayy…I absolutely LOVE tulips! They are my favorite flower, red & yellow specifically. πŸ˜€ Might have something to do with the fact that my mom planted them in our flower bed most years when I was growing up, and I rememeber “helping” her and the smell. *ahhh*
    Lovely pics!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      I have the same problem with your posts too! I’m guessing it’s due the time difference.
      Oh it must have been a lovely sight! Wonderful childhood memories, being able to grow up among such beautiful flowers. Red and yellow are so bright and cheery! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. genn

    Toally missed this because of H’s erratic roster in recent months. 😦 Not a flower person at all but I was so impressed with the tulip buds at the Keukenhof. Yes, C looks like she really loves flowers.

    Reply
  9. Katy@TheOpenDoor

    How fun and great pictures! We have a community nearby that is primarily Dutch, and every May they have a “Tulip Fest” as well! We went a few years ago with friends and loved taking pictures in all the tulip gardens. We even bought a few bulbs to plant at home. This is a great reminder to bring Charlotte next year. It looks like you guys had a fun day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

