Book review: How Many Bugs in a Box? by David A.Carter

bugsinabox.jpg

Here’s the book that started the Bugs phenomenon!

As I’ve mentioned in earlier reviews, I’ve a soft spot for pop-up books. So when I came across How Many Bugs in a Box? A pop-up counting book by David A. Carter, I couldn’t resist ordering it.

The blurb on the book’s back cover mentioned a bug phenomenon, but frankly speaking, I had no idea that this was such a popular book prior to reading the reviews. When I opened the book, I understood why 🙂

The content of the book was simple -readers get to count bugs from one to ten. I’m not a big bug person, but take a look at the drawings of the super cute bugs:

bugsinabox1.jpg

What do you think you’ll find?

bugsinabox2.jpg

Bug doing weight-lifting?

Who would have expected to find a weight-lifting tough bug?

bugsinabox3.jpg

A striped box this time…

Bugs of all varieties are found in the book. From the mundane pretty bugs…

bugsinabox4.jpg
…to imaginary frog-bugs!
bugsinabox5.jpg

C’s review
C loved opening the flaps and exploring how the book was constructed. Being older, she was also able to appreciate the humour in the names of some of the imaginary bugs (noodle bugs anyone?)

G’s review
It’s stated that the book is meant for 3years and above, due to small parts (from the pop-ups), but G enjoyed it under supervision. He was thrilled that we allowed him to open the flaps and touch the bugs, and kept going “more,more” even after we finished reading. His favourite part was the frog-bugs. 🙂

My review
It’s a relatively simple book, with cute illustrations that will be appreciated by  young and the young-at-heart.  Toddlers learn about counting, adjectives, and bugs. Older kids will appreciate the humourously named bugs (C drew an imaginary bug after reading the book – a guitar bug). On the downside, I would have preferred a board book version with sturdier flaps.

Overall, I would still recommend How Many Bugs in a Box? A pop-up counting book. Both kids and myself enjoyed reading it!

Have you read any of the bug books?

12 thoughts on “Book review: How Many Bugs in a Box? by David A.Carter

      1. Valerie

        I think we had three or four of them, but goodness knows Idk remember which ones! They were all great, though, so yes! 😉

  1. Zee

    Haha this book is really cute!! Everytime I read a review by you, I feel that I’m really boring with regard to my children’s book choices! :p

    By the way, there is a mega bugs exhibition going on at science centre now. Just thought I would let you know since you’ve started the bugs phenomenon.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Haha…. I love looking for interesting children’s books and am always excited to share my finds. Classics will always be a staple in my library though.

      Thanks! I’m considering bringing the kids down, but wondering if C & G will take to the mega bugs – it’s one thing to see cute little bugs in books and another to see a gigantic one towering over you. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

