5 random facts about my blog

20130417-090222.jpg

My friends Zee and Valerie each posted 5 random facts about their blogs a while back. I thought I would join in the fun :).

Here goes:

1. This is a small, no-frills blog. I appreciate every one of the 100+ views I get everyday. Here’s a big “Hello, and thank you” to those who have taken time to read and comment.

2. It’s my first blog – I did try to start one 5 years back, but never published any posts. I’m still learning to navigate WordPress (which explains the lack of fancy backgrounds or widgets :))

3. Most posts are read and written on the WP app while I’m on the move. So I when I read your posts I don’t see the pretty backgrounds, I just read your contents 🙂

4. The search term “Heguru” directs the most traffic to my blog.

5. Most of my friends and family do not know of the existence of this blog. I don’t hide it, but somehow, it feels strange to publicize it.

Do join me to share 5 random facts about your blog. It would be fun to know more about you!

28 thoughts on “5 random facts about my blog

  1. genn

    definitely know what you mean about #5. i don’t tell people too. and being simple is good. look at me, after 7 years on wordpress, i’m back to basics.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Ha… You have a nice blog going. Mine is a work in progress.
      Yes, there’s just something about blogging that is private (like an online diary of sorts)

      Reply
  2. Lil' Bebe Academy

    This is my first blog too;). Five facts about my blog: 1 I operate a home daycare and blog about it. 2- I am always busy so I don’t post as often. 3- I still don’t know how to navigate WordPress. 4- I use the blog as my main website. 5- I like my theme for the fun things we do at the daycare

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      For some strange reason I thought I had followed your blog, but I didn’t! That’s fixed now. Yes, I can imagine your hands must be full with little kids rubbings around! Looking forward to more posts 🙂

      Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      I’m glad to be able to share! Right brain education is somewhat a pet subject of mine. I’ve always been fascinated by the research and methods.

      Reply
  3. Katy@TheOpenDoor

    First of all, that picture is to die for cute. And second, I sometimes wish I didn’t have so many people I know reading my blog. I started it to keep my family in the loop when I had Charlotte two years ago, and now there are times I’d like to write things but feel a little awkward knowing everyone in my entire extended family will read it! Oh well!

    Reply
  4. Zee

    Thanks for linking up and for sharing! Actually the first post I read on your blog was also one of your posts about G starting heguru (I think). I found that really interesting.

    You take questions? I have one. Any reason behind the blog profile pic? Hehe.

    Reply
      1. mummyshymz Post author

        I wanted to find one of a rabbit, pig, ox and dragon for our family. But couldn’t find a suitable one. So decided to use this as it’s cuter 😉

      2. mummyshymz Post author

        Haha… I thought I had put it down as one of the 5 random facts. But in fact it was in an earlier draft! So I was curious why the question was asked. Silly me!

    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Oh you are too kind! If it counts, I love your posts – the warmth, the humor, the crafts, the kids. I still remember reading your post about dinner with the queen! (I double checked… In case my memory failed me)

      Reply
  5. linbritt

    #5 resonates with me. I like my friends and family to read my blog so they know what is going on in our lives, but I still share the stories with them and they say “yeah I read that on your blog!” Awkward!! And I agree with Katy@The Open Door- there are many more things I’d like to write about but knowing certain people read it, makes me reconsider 😉

    Reply
  6. Homeschool Crafts

    Heya! Thanks for sharing your random facts! I’m new to WP and feeling very inspired after reading your blog. 😉 You’ve mentioned writing via WP’s app. May I ask what mobile device are you using? I’m currently doing the same but I find typing on my phone very very tiring. Finger aches!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Fellow WP newbies unite! Hehe…
      I’m using an iPhone. I do the text and photoupload using the app, layout and captions in Safari. I’m having more problems since they switched it to landscape mode so I hope they change it back soon.

      Reply
      1. Homeschool Crafts

        Thanks for sharing. I’m using iPhone too but with much difficulty. Perhaps, I need more practice 🙂

  7. Valerie

    Glad you decided to do this! #5 is true for me as well. It would be weird for me to have family or IRL friends commenting on my blog (I have no idea why!) haha

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hehe, I finally got down to post this. Quite a few left in draft format – I’ve got to find time to complete them :p
      Yes, sometimes I do a double take when I see comments from people I know IRL whom I had no idea were reading. Lol! But it’s nice to know they popped by to say hi.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

