Project: Sensory Bottles

Sensory bottles are plastic bottles filled with different items designed to stimulate a child’s curiosity. I was inspired by Pink Bekah’s pretty sensory bottles, and decided to try making some myself.

Sensory bottles can be either wet or dry. For this project, I wanted to do the wet variation. On Saturday evening I bought the supplies for the “liquids”. Baby oil was the recommended medium, but I thought it would be interesting to try with liquid hand soap (it was on sale, and the colours were pretty!). The hair gel was not used this time – I’ll be using in the next project.

Liquids for the sensory bottles

Liquids for the sensory bottles

I brought out some craft supplies I had at home: glow in the dark stars, crystal beads, colour links, foil patterns and glitter!

sensory bottle glitter

Glow in the dark stars and bling-bling

C did the first bottle – she chose the yellow liquid hand soap as the medium, with glow in the dark stars and star foil. It turned out really pretty!

1st sensory bottle with liquid hand soap

1st sensory bottle with liquid hand soap

We tried to see if the glow in the dark stars would shine brightly in the dark. Unfortunately the glow was rather faint, and I couldn’t capture it on camera. It looked really nice using the camera flash though.

In the dark

In the dark

G joined in the fun and filled the second bottle with stars and beads. Of course, the best part of filling the bottle is being able to empty it later (some on the table, mostly on the floor!).

Part of the fun is pouring it all out

Part of the fun is pouring it all out

A combined effort by both kids to add the baby oil. They really enjoyed this part!

Squeezing the baby oil in!

Squeezing the baby oil in!

I thought the 2nd bottle looked better – G poured in a ton of glitter!

Sensory bottle with baby oil

2nd sensory bottle with baby oil

Lessons learnt
The difference in viscosity between the liquid hand soap and baby oil made an interesting contrast when the bottles were shaken. The hand soap was very viscuous so it was more difficult to swirl the contents. It was easier to turn the bottle upside down and watch the contents float slowly upwards. There were very interesting bubbles!

The glitter worked better in baby oil – in the liquid hand soap it clung to the sides of the bottle or settled at the bottom. For glow in the dark effect, I think I’ll have to source for brighter glowing stars or stickers.

It was a quick and fun activity for both kids, and G got to work on his fine-motor skills and colours (he chose specific colours to put into the bottle). C got a lesson in density -she asked why the stars floated in the liquid hand soap but settled at the bottom in the baby oil.

It was definitely a hit with both kids although I had initially wanted to make the bottles for G. C had plenty of ideas for her next bottle! Looks like I’ll be drinking a lot of juice. 😉

Another look at our sensory bottles!

A close look at our sensory bottles!

Have you made sensory bottles? Do share your ideas by posting in the comment box below!

22 thoughts on “Project: Sensory Bottles

  1. Zee

    I have read so much about this but haven’t tried. Think Aly should be at an age where she will enjoy this. Shall put this on my to-do list.

    Btw, glow in the dark stars are so old school. Haha. I was in love with them when I was younger!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      I’ve only read about these quite recently. When C was a toddler I had no idea I was making a sensory bottle when I put beans and rice in a bottle to entertain her. Lol.
      I used to have glow in the dark stars on my room ceiling! 😉 haha, I’m a sucker for old school stuff. Classics.

      Reply
  2. linbritt

    Love this idea. Especially with slow moving glitter. I’ve heard it’s good for ‘time out’ -the kids watch as the glitter settles. Gives them something to concentrate on while calming down for a short amount of time!

    Reply
  3. tric

    I wish I had known you when my little ones were little! I saw a fab thing on the tv the other day and I actually thought of you. You get a jar of water and sand. You spray the sand with scotchguard( I don’t know what it is in america, but you spray it on shoes to make them waterproof). When you put the sand into the water it gathers in strange lumps, but if you use a spoon you can lift out the sand and it is 100% dry! It looked fab on the TV

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Haha I’m flattered that you thought of me! Oh, I know scotchguard! Sounds intriguing… Will give that a try once I buy the scotchguard 😉

      Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Thanks! Was inspired by other mums. 🙂 Hmm… It’s worth a try. Baby oil and baby wash are miscible so there won’t be separate layers, but I’m not sure what the effect will be. Going to try it this weekend 😉

      Reply
  4. pinkbekah

    Love the soap idea! We will be making a trip to Hobby Lobby soon and I definitely plan on getting some sand to use in our next bottles. And I think we’ll ask family and friends about having their old SMOOTH bottles. I think your bottles turned out so much better because they don’t have ridges and you can actually see what’s in them.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Thanks! Yes I think clear bottles would have a much better effect. I’ve asked my friends to pass me their bottles too. Will be watching out for your next sensory bottle 🙂

      Reply
      1. graceofmae

        How special do they look! 2 years ago my mum put some almonds in a plastic bottle and gave it to C- its still one of her favourite “toys” and now L loves it to – the simple things hey?! Love, love, love the glow stick idea!! Will have to try it out!

      2. mummyshymz Post author

        Hehe, yes. It’s usually the case isn’t it? Give them a toy, but it’s the box they like the most.
        Oh, pls do! It’ll be lovely to see how yours turn out!

  5. Valerie

    Ooh, the pink glitter one is lovely! I saw this idea on Pink Bekah’s too – I need to do this!! 😀

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      It’s such a fab idea right? I knew I had to try it when I saw it posted. I’m sure your little guy will like it. Just make sure the lid is glued on. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

