Project: Felt playset – A House for Hermit Crab

Last week I borrowed a copy of Eric Carle’s A House for Hermit Crab from the library, intending to read it with C and G. Eric Carle books are very popular with my kids, and I’m sure the popular children’s author needs no introduction.

House for hermit crab

In this simple tale, we follow hermit crab as he looks for a new house, and proceeds to add various creatures to his shell for decoration and protection. Reading this story, the kids get to learn about the hermit crab and other marine lifeforms in its habitat as well as the different months in a year.

Besides the usual lapbook and crafts, I wanted to try something more interesting (and slightly more ambitious). Inspired by the internet, I made a felt playset, complete with hermit crab, shell, and the various marine lifeforms that appear in the story. This could be used with my existing felt story book to re-enact the story.

I’m glad to say that it turned out pretty well, and the kids loved it! Especially C, who wanted me to recite the story while she acted it out for G on the felt story book (we did this three times!). I think the effort and time spent was well worth it, looking at the joy on their faces. πŸ™‚

DIY felt playset

Have you read A House for Hermit Crab ?

19 thoughts on “Project: Felt playset – A House for Hermit Crab

  1. Valerie

    You did such a good job with that! I bet the kids loved it! Mine always loved acting out things. I think I read that book years ago. “Brown Bear, Brown BEar…” was always a big hot around here. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ yes I had very encouraging reactions from both of them. I read this to C when she was young, but didn’t think about such activities then. The re-read was a success! I’m doing some simple puppetry with brown bear. Got to find time to finish it soon πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. mommylazy

        just wanna check out where can i buy the photo memory cards (eg: the lion dance pictures that u prepared)and the linking memory material…hope to hear from you. thanks alot.

      2. mummyshymz Post author

        Hi there, for photographic memory (like the lion dance picture), you can get spot the difference books from popular or use coloring books to DIY (I’m assuming you are from Singapore?) and for linking memory, you can consider the magnetic memory set or use any picture cards and create your own storyline πŸ™‚

    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi, mine is adhesive felt (it comes with a paper backing so that it’s easier to draw the designs) when cutting it keeps its shape. I used double layers so that it’s more sturdy.

      Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Thank you!! I bought them from a craft store here in Singapore. You can get them online from amazon and hobby lobby (shop.hobbylobby.com) it’s actually adhesive felt so you just cut and stick both sides together.

      Reply
  2. No Circ is Whole Son!

    I have totally been wanting to make something like this as a compliment to our learning months of the year. I made a “Hungry Caterpillar” book for the days of the week and this book has been on the list for awhile. You just gave me the inspiration I needed and the simplicity in design to allow me to create this myself. Thank you so very much!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Project: Puppet theatre – Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see? | mummyshymz

Leave a Reply

