G in school

It’s been 2 months since my last post on G’s first day in school. I’m happy to report that he has settled down well a month ago, and there are no longer tears when we drop him off or during pick-up. In fact, he waves hello to his friends once he reaches the school gate! He has been eating well (really well in fact – the teachers report that he is eating 3 portions at a go!) and enjoying the activities in school.

I wanted him to grow up in an environment where play was encouraged and where there was enough space to roam and explore. At the beginning of last year, we started on our search for G’s pre-school, and finally found one which was ideal in terms of distance, environment and teaching philosophy.

I loved that the pre-school was big and spacious, and it was located in a quiet area, off the main road. In the school, there are separate areas designated for pretend play, working with manipulatives, a reading area and a kid’s kitchen where everything is kid-sized! Even toddlers get to cook (with child-safe utensils of course!). Constant feedback from his teachers and photos from class keep me updated on his activities in school.

Here are some photos of his school and G’s activities:

Dramatic play area where the kids are provided with plenty of props and costumes for pretend play

Dramatic play area where the kids are provided with plenty of props and costumes for pretend play

Pretend play time

Pretend play time

Cosy reading area

Cosy reading area

Kid's kitchen where they get to cook (even toddlers!)

Kid’s kitchen where they get to cook (even toddlers!)

Making french toast

Making french toast

Finally, my favourite part of the school – the big outdoor play area that’s located within the compound where he can run freely. I’m really happy that he gets outdoor time daily, and there is a safe place for him to do so.

My favourite part of the school - the big outdoor playarea

My favourite part of the school – the big outdoor playarea

Outdoor play!

Outdoor play!

Despite my initial misgivings, I’m glad that my little boy has grown more confident and sociable after attending school. He no longer needs us to feed him, and plays independently. My little boy is growing up!

Little lion dancer

Little lion dancer

When did your little ones start attending school?

23 thoughts on “G in school

  1. growingwiththetans

    Wow, G is doing really well now! I can’t imagine having to send my baby to school next time either. I’m glad he’s enjoying himself and that the school seems to be a perfect fit for him. If you don’t mind me asking, where is his school? You can PM me if you’re uncomfortable with revealing that information online, but I’d really like to learn more about good pre-schools. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. booklovinggrandma

    My children are grown now, but I remember how much they enjoyed and benefited from their preschool experiences. The right school is so important, and it seem that your little boy’s provides the right environment for growth. Thank you for liking my blog.

    Reply
  3. Zee

    I’m thinking of sending Aly to school when she turns 18 months, which reminds me I should start looking out for pre-schools soon. Most schools have a waiting list these days. I’m also looking out for one which has an outdoor playground!

    Reply
      1. mummyshymz Post author

        Oh dear, can try the wait list or call up periodically. Sometimes there is a withdrawal or parents decide not to sign up. I’ve had some friends who got lucky when they tried to call the school a few times. In the mean time, I guess you have to search for alternatives. Some schools do not have wait lists, and open for registration in feb/march. Good luck!

  4. learningwithmissjenny

    Thanks for sharing! I love the real kitchen. We started to talk about preschool for my daughter and I hate to admit to crying like a baby just talking about it! They grow up so fast! Anyways, it looks like you made a great choice. I suppose that I need to start looking as well.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Haha, I think G’s favourite class must be the weekly cooking session – he loves to eat!
      Aww… I cried buckets too, especially after he started (shhh… don’t tell anyone…) so I understand how you feel. It was hard initially, but I’m glad that it turned out well. It’s just like what other mummies told me, kids adapt really quickly, even if it seems tough at first. Good luck in your search to find your ideal preschool!

      Reply
  5. Jocelyn Wong

    Hi hi, I love the outdoor play area. So rare to find such in Singapore. I am looking for a preschool for my 2yr old, if u dun mind, could u kindly PM me the school name? Many thks 😉

    Reply
  6. Lai Yin

    Hi,
    Wow, the school look very nice. I like the open space, especially the outdoor field. Most of the schools are all air condition with limited sunlight…

    I am looking for a school for my 2.5yr old boy. Possible to pm the school name to me?

    Thank you thank you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

