Right brain home practice with G

G has been attending right brain classes since he turned 1 year old. In order to complement the weekly classes, I try to do daily home practise with him. Since I did not get any official guidelines from the schools on home practice (unlike Shichida school, which conducts home practice classes for parents), I simply tried to replicate what was done in class, and fine-tuned it based on research and discussions with Shichida mothers.

Often, when I mention that I do home practice, I get the following questions from other parents: What do you do during home practice? How much time does it take?

In this post, I’ll try to give some examples of what I do with G:

1. Deep breathing exercise
I start with breathing exercises. G still doesn’t fully understand how to breathe in on command, but he knows how to blow out. He also does the actions on cue (placing his hands on his stomach, bending forward).

2. Flash cards
I have a stash of flashcards accumulated from when C was a baby. On average I flash about 30x10cards per session.

Examples of some flashcards

Examples of some flashcards

3. Dots cards
About 3 months ago, I added the dots cards to the list of activities. This is part of the Shichida 63 day maths program. I started this a little late, considering that some did the dots program when their babies were 2months old!

Example of dot cards

Example of dot cards

4. Photographic memory
I usually do 3 activities:
– flash an image for 3s. Then I get G to pick out the one he saw from 2 similar images in different colours.

– flash an image with 3 similar objects but different colours for 5 seconds e.g. a clown juggling 3 different coloured balls. Then I give him a picture without the balls. He is to place the coloured balls in the correct location.

On the left is the picture shown to G; on the right is a blank template with 3 different coloured balls

On the left is the picture shown to G; on the right is a blank template with 3 different coloured balls

– flash an image with 3 different objects. G needs to place the pictures in the correct order. For this I use the magnetic instant memory board.

5. Linking memory
Currently I’m doing 4 pictures instead of 40. I use either the memory board or other pictures I’ve printed.

6. ESP
I’ve added this activity after attending Heguru. Sometimes, I will put 2 objects in a bag and ask G to reach in and hold one (for example a red block and blue block), then ask him which one he thinks he is holding (red feels hot, blue feels cool). As he is not talking much, I have a duplicate set for him to point to.

I’ve also tried hiding objects and asking him to guess where he thinks the object will be.

Hide one item behind the baby - guess which item is hidden? Or guess which baby has an item behind it?

Hide one item behind the baby – guess which item is hidden? Or guess which baby has an item behind it?

7. Language
I’m doing the Sawako story with G (it’s a story about a little Japanese girl called Sawako – the same story is told in 6 different languages – japanese, english, french, german, spanish, chinese)

8. Tracing
I’ve just started introducing tracing activities to G.

DIY tracing worksheet

DIY tracing worksheet

Time taken
I make it a point to do activities 1 to 3 everyday, and it takes less than 5 minutes to complete. Depending on the time available, I add on other activities (I try to do linking memory as often as possible).

On weekends, I spend about half an hour on right brain activities, and complete the activities mentioned above, plus sorting activities using the sorting box. G also likes working on Bambino LUK. I’m planning to add on the colour mandala practice shortly.

Do you do right brain home practice too? Do share other activities that you do with your children!

44 thoughts on “Right brain home practice with G

  1. Lynn Chang

    hi, very interesting that you do so many home activities with your kids. My girl also attends Heguru. But as the teacher did not say much about home activities….i did not do much 😦

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi, thanks for stopping by 🙂 How old is your girl? Does she like the class?
      Don’t worry about the home practice. Just do what you feel comfortable with. I actually enjoy doing it with my children, as I treat it as a form of bonding 🙂
      For ideas, do check out some of the printables I’ve created on the CNY theme. Hope you’ll find them useful! I usually do my research on the net, or discuss with other Shichida/Heguru mothers. Will be sharing more information as I go along. Do feel free to drop me an email if you wish to discuss more 🙂
      Cheers!

      Reply
      1. Lynn Chang

        I am a new mother and my girl is 7 mths now!
        I would like to do more for my girl but realised that many forums that used to have many shichida mothers are no longer active.
        Hope to know more shichida/heguru mothers like yourself that I can learn from…….

      2. mummyshymz Post author

        Welcome to motherhood. yes, unfortunately the forums are not as active now. I know of one on Facebook but it is mostly conducting sprees.

  2. Felina

    It’s great to read your post and your experience on right brain training! I am a mother to a 10month baby and has recently registered my boy for the Heguru class starting this week,( but due to class full for our preferred timing, we ll b joining an existing class)
    Do you think it makes a great difference whether it’s a totally new or existing class in terms of learning?:)

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Felina, thanks for reading 🙂
      In my opinion there would not be a big difference since they have new themes each term. In fact, if the other children are already used to attending the class, there will be a positive influence on your boy (versus a class of crying kids). This is true especially for ESP (Dr Shichida believes that the brain waves of the children influence each other). Maybe the parent will be lost at the beginning though 😉
      Enjoy your class, do let me know what you think of the classes 🙂

      Reply
  3. Annie

    Hi Mummy,
    Thank you for your blog. I learn a lot from it.
    I love the memory materials you made, is there a way for me to download them?
    If not, can you share with me your materials? I’m new so i greatly appreciate some help.
    Thank you!

    Reply
  4. Ambaree

    Hi.. u r doing a lot for your baby’s right brain. It has been a few weeks since my 1 year old has been attending Shichida.. but whenever I sit down for home practice I feel so lost and so-not confident. I always feel I need to create my own material (although I already have the Tensai ones) but I dont know how to. 😥

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Ambaree, don’t worry. I was as lost as you in the beginning when #1 started. I picked it up as I went along. As you practice more, you’ll gain confidence. If you are with Shichida, they have the PEC which some parents find useful.
      Actually there are a lot of things you can include for home practice. What I did in the beginning was to emulate whatever the teacher did in class. For flashcards, you can DIY or buy custom-made ones. I’ll pm you some info to help you get started 🙂

      Reply
  5. Mel

    Hi there, thanks for sharing. The insight info is very useful. I’m new to Heguru and agree that in terms of home practice, the support seems to be missing. Would you mind sharing your materials with me? Would really appreciate it 🙂

    Reply
  6. Annie

    Hi, can you share with me some info to get started too. I just learnt about right brain training recently and am feeling a little lost about it. Would you mind sharing your materials with me too? Thank you.

    Reply
      1. snow

        Hi Mummy,

        I am also looking for the 63 day maths program. May I know which online website can I get it? Thanks.

  7. Janice

    Hi,
    U have really good materials! Would u mind sharing the materials? Where did u buy the flashcards. I’m looking for flashcards for my 1yr old boy

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Why right brain education? | mummyshymz

  9. Lee Fay

    Hi dear! It’s so good to chance upon your website! Learnt so much valuable info here. My boy has just started right brain training too, he is 12 months old. Am quite lost on what to do for home practise with him. Could you pls kindly email me the contacts to buy the kits on Taobao? And I would love some ideas and tips as well! Thank you so much dear!

    Reply
  10. MummyRalph

    Hi mummyshymz, great job on the materials you are doing! I’m a 1st time mum to a 10month old baby and new to Heguru. I’m just starting on flashcards. Quite at a loss on what to do except flashcards. Wld like to ask where do you get your materials frm? Appreciate your help greatly! 🙂

    Reply
  11. ferlena

    hi. my girl is now 19mth had attend shichida for 3 months! however i am quite lost about preparing for home practice, my girl love photo memory game however there is limited picture online for download can you share how you do your pic? thanks!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Ferlena, there are a few ways to prepare the photo memory game:
      1) use spot the difference books. These are available at popular, bras basah book shops
      2) use coloring books. Buy 2 of them and colour using different colours (more work involved)
      3) print and cut out the pictures. You can attach the pictures to the background using Velcro so you can move the different objects around. You can prepare 2 sets. One for yourself, one for your child.
      4) there are apps on iPad/iPhone which allow you to create different effects on photos (eg add a clip art to existing picture) You can use these to edit and print out the pics for photographic memory use.

      In fact, photo memory can be done in many ways, not necessarily using different pictures. You can stack lego in different ways and ask your girl which one she saw too.

      Hope this info is helpful 🙂

      Reply
  12. YH

    Hi there tks for sharing yr experiences with right brain training! You hv certainly inspired me to consider right brain training seriously with my 2 mth old son. I visited heguru n they said even 2 mth old is ok to join. I m hesitant becos of concerns of hygiene n lack of focus/concentration in class. What do you think?

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi YH,
      Sorry for the late reply. Thanks for coming by!
      In right brain training they advocate starting as young as possible. For myself, I started classes only when my kids were able to sit independently. However, I did do flash cards at home with them when they were younger.
      Class with trained teachers would definitely be more efficient, but if you have concerns on hygiene and attention span, perhaps you can try doing it at home first? There are videos on youtube on correct flashing techniques (this is good, but in Japanese: http://youtu.be/-shR2MAXT0Q) and you can buy flash cards to do it at home.
      Let me know if you need more information 🙂

      Reply
      1. YH

        Thank you! I plan to start with glenn doman cards at hm first. I had a lot of success with my older daughter who is coming to 8 next yr. However GD cards are mainly on reading eng n chinese. Didnt find e math dot cards useful for my daughter. Anyway think I wil take yr advice n focus on flashing cards at hm first. Health more impt since bb is young.

      2. mummyshymz Post author

        You’re welcome! 🙂 GD flashing is slightly different from the right brain methods but I’m glad it worked well for your daughter. I agree that health is more important 😉

  13. Natalie

    So happy to find your blog. I am in Perth and cannot find Shichida classes here. Thinking of starting to teach my 3yo and 8mths old boys myself. Do you have any materials to teach me how to start? Thanks in advance!

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Natalie,
      You can try with photographic memory for both, and do linking memory with your 3 year old.
      Here’s a list of material that I’ve created:
      https://mummyshymz.wordpress.com/home-practice-material/

      You can also refer to this for quick home practice ideas with material you can easily find at home:
      https://mummyshymz.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/home-practice-with-g-the-budget-version/

      Peg memory:
      https://mummyshymz.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/peg-memory-whats-that/

      Hope this is useful 🙂

      Reply
  14. Lynne

    Hi mommy,
    THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing! I feel that i’m totally in luck today for chancing upon your blog which is full of educational guides! I’m impressed with the contents in your blog.
    I’m also a FTWM (recently started part-time on alternate days) and studying at UniSIM, with 2 very youngs kids.
    Started Shichida 3 weeks ago for my no.1 kid and tries to DIY the activities they do in class.
    I also find images online to create my own activities, from prints, laminate, velcro, etc.
    I frequent Taobao, hence could you please share with me which sellers in Taobao, online and in Sg that I can get the materials like what you got?
    Such as flashcards, educational games or materials and etc? I’m really all out to teach my kids 😉
    Thank you.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Lynne, I don’t usually get from a single seller. On taobao, I use the search terms “七田真闪卡”, “杜曼”,”左脑”,”蒙特梭利教具”
      In Singapore I buy from popular, mylittleones, sprees on Singaporemotherhood forum. Hope this info helps:)

      Reply
  15. Sujatha

    hi mummyshymz,
    So glad to chance upon your blog. You are awesome and very inspiring to all mothers!
    Thank you for sharing so much here despite being FTWM!
    Mommy, I need help. My son has been attending HEGURU here in Kuwait since last year, he is now in Preschool 1 of HEGURU. He is going to be 6 soon. Am I late to start using flash cards (for improving vocabulary)with him? Do you know any affordable place in Singapore to buy these flashcards or any online site where I can download and use? My son has’nt figured out coloring and drawing mandala, yet. Any suggestions to help him with that, mommy?

    Thank you, again. Love to hear from you.

    Reply
    1. mummyshymz Post author

      Hi Sujatha,
      Thanks for popping by 🙂
      No it’s not too late to start flash cards. You can get flashcards from bookstores such as popular or second hand ones from online forums. Else you can try to diy (more tedious). You can get blank flashcards from Hiap Moh.
      For mandala, perhaps you can start by using simpler patterns. Ask your son to look for the shapes. Usually the child will start recognizing and drawing out the shapes that he sees (triangle, squares etc). To put the shapes together, you can try asking him what it looks like (a funny face? A rocket? Etc). Tell a story as you draw. For colours, aim to have him remember 2-3 colours first. Small steps, and remember to praise his efforts 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

