The most beautiful sound

Early this morning, I was awakened by the sound of giggles from my 2 children. The first thing that came to my mind was “Oh no! Both awake at 3am?!”

I stayed as still as possible, in case they were waiting for me to wake up before pouncing on me – hmm, no fingers prying my eyelids open, yet. I opened my eyes slowly  to check the situation. Both were still fast asleep! My daughter let out another round of giggles, and soon after, my son followed suit.

At that moment I felt an overwhelming sense of contentment, and spent the next half hour or so looking at their smiling faces, sound asleep, in the semi-darkness. Children’s laughter is the most beautiful sound, even more so when they are laughing in their sleep.

My children are happy. So, I am, too.

Leave a Reply

